President Obama Signs Alabama Disaster Declaration [April 28, 2009]   [open pdf - 49KB]

"The President today [April 28, 2009] declared a major disaster exists in the State of Alabama and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, and straight-line winds during the period of March 25 to April 3, 2009. Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, and straight-line winds in Baldwin, Bullock, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lamar, Marengo, Perry, Russell, Washington, and Wilcox Counties. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. Albert Lewis has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area. FEMA [Federal Emergency Management Agency] said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
White House: http://www.whitehouse.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations