Declaration of Leaders Meeting of Major Economies on Energy Security and Climate Change [July 9, 2008]   [open pdf - 37KB]

This declaration of the leaders of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, the European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States declares their commitment to combat climate change. "To enable the full, effective, and sustained implementation of the Convention between now and 2012, we will: Work together on mitigation-related technology cooperation strategies in specific economic sectors, promote the exchange of mitigation information and analysis on sectoral efficiency, the identification of national technology needs and voluntary, action-oriented international cooperation, and consider the role of cooperative sectoral approaches and sector-specific actions, consistent with the Convention; Direct our trade officials responsible for WTO issues to advance with a sense of urgency their discussions on issues relevant to promoting our cooperation on climate change; Accelerate enhanced action on technology development, transfer, financing, and capacity building to support mitigation and adaptation efforts; Support implementation of the Nairobi Work Programme on impacts, vulnerability, and adaptation to climate change; Improve significantly energy efficiency, a low-cost way to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and enhance energy security; Continue to promote actions under the Montreal Protocol on Substances That Deplete the Ozone Layer for the benefit of the global climate system; and Intensify our efforts without delay within existing fora to improve effective greenhouse gas measurement."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
White House: http://www.whitehouse.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations