Statement on Federal Disaster Assistance for Arkansas [September 18, 2008]   [open pdf - 18KB]

From the Document: "The President today [September 18, 2008] declared a major disaster exists in the State of Arkansas and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding associated with Hurricane Gustav during the period of September 2-8, 2008. Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding associated with Hurricane Gustav in the counties of Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Conway, Dallas, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Lincoln, Montgomery, Perry, Prairie, Saline, and Van Buren. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. R. David Paulison, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Kenneth M. Riley as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area. FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
White House: http://www.whitehouse.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations