Kentucky Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program [website]   [open html - 15KB]

This web page offers information and links on Kentucky's Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program. From the site description: "The Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program (CSEPP) was created in 1985 when the US Congress passed a law directing the Army to dispose of its aging chemical weapons inventory with maximum protection of the public and environment as its primary consideration. Since its inception, the primary goal of CSEPP has been to educate and enhance emergency preparedness in communities surrounding the chemical stockpile stored at the Bluegrass Army Depot. There are 10 counties in Kentucky which are affected by the chemical stockpile. Madison County, where the Bluegrass Army Depot is located, is considered the Immediate Response Zone (IRZ). Clark, Powell, Estill, Jackson, Rockcastle and Garrard Counties make up the Protective Action Zone (PAZ). Fayette, Jessamine and Laurel Counties are considered Host counties, in which citizens of the IRZ or PAZ may be deployed. Until the chemical stockpile is safely destroyed, CSEPP will continue to support efforts to ensure a community's preparedness and safety in the unlikely event of a chemical agent accident."

Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media Type:
Help with citations