DSCA Handbook: Tactical Level Commander and Staff Toolkit   [open pdf - 7MB]

"The DSCA [Defense Support of Civil Authorities] Handbook is divided into five major sections--the Tactical Level Commander and Staff Toolkit on this side of the handbook with four sections, background, planning, staff annexes, and reference annexes; and the Liaison Officer Toolkit on the reverse side. Major sections are delineated by colored bottom borders as indicated in the section descriptions that follow. Chapter 1 contains background information relative to Defense Support of Civil Authorities (DSCA), including legal, doctrinal, and policy issues. This chapter also provides a quick summary of the legal underpinnings related to DSCA. Chapter 2 is an overview of incident management processes, including the National Response Framework (NRF), National Incident Management System (NIMS), and Incident Command System (ICS), as well as Department of Homeland Security (DHS) organizations. Chapter 3 discusses civilian and military responses to a natural disaster. Also included are the organization and command relationships involved in DoD response to a disaster. Chapter 4 is a brief review of the Joint Operation Planning Process and mission analysis. Chapter 5 provides DSCA planning factors for response to all hazard events. Chapter 6 is a review of safety and operational/composite risk management processes. Chapters 7 through 11 contain the Concepts of Operation (CONOPS) and details five natural hazards/disasters and the pertinent planning factors for each within the scope of DSCA."

Report Number:
GTA 90-01-021
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations